Tree World  


Go Back   Tree World > All About Trees > Chainsaws

Brand new 070 on ebay

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th October 2010, 11:16 AM   #1
Mature Tree
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 1,594
Default Brand new 070 on ebay

This would be a rare find:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Stihl-070-Chainsaw-New-105cc-Old-school-power-/130441021209?pt=AU_Protective_Gear&hash=item1e5ee40719#ht_600wt_1141
TrevMcRev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2010, 11:43 AM   #2
Admin - Owner Palm & Tree Services in Brisbane
 
Eric Frei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 12,994
Default Re: Brand new 070 on ebay

when did they stop manf of that model?
Eric Frei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2010, 11:51 AM   #3
Over mature heritage tree
 
Willard Holmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 650
Default Re: Brand new 070 on ebay

I believe in Brazil they along with the 090 are still made. Legend also says a few are pumped out every year from Germany too.
Willard.
Willard Holmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2010, 10:07 PM   #4
MCW
Former Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Riverland, South Australia
Posts: 31
Default Re: Brand new 070 on ebay

If I told you that I have an 070 on it's way from China that is an exact copy of a genuine Stihl 070 what would you say? I can tell you now, I highly doubt this is a genuine Stihl 070. They are even knocking off the bars and chains perfectly (funnily enough mine is ALSO coming with a 36" Rollomatic E with .404" chain). Every nut and bolt from an original 070 is completely, 100% interchangable.
Although I don't hang out on this site much I do check the threads from time to time and this one stood out as some of the 070 ads on eBay I've been looking at over the last few weeks are absolute BS and the sellers should be banned - even some of the photos I've seen on eBay are from the same Chinese manufacturer I'm dealing with.

If I can put knock off 070's on eBay and get this sort of crazy money I'll be retiring young that's for sure I won't give away pricing but I cannot believe these little Chinaman can even make HALF the saw for what they'll sell them to me for.

Oh and what do you know? He's got another one up for sale. However now he's added "Made In China"...

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Stihl-070-Chainsaw-New-105cc-Old-school-power-/130450171869?pt=AU_Protective_Gear&hash=item1e5f6fa7dd
MCW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 07:35 AM   #5
Mature tree
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Adelaide SA
Posts: 292
Default Re: Brand new 070 on ebay

I was just trolling ebay looking at saws (as I tend to do) & I cannot believe the sheer number of fake Stihl & Husky saws on there proudly displaying trademark badges.

Check this one out; http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Stihl-MS-381-Chainsaw-Only-used-once-/150556605454?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item230ddf7c0e
He's got it listed as a Stihl, but when quizzed about it's history, he says it came in a box from China!

There are heaps of others! Especially Husky 365's.
KevinE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 08:08 AM   #6
Semi-mature vigorous tree
 
stihl kickin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: north western pennsylvania
Posts: 84
Default Re: Brand new 070 on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinE View Post
I was just trolling ebay looking at saws (as I tend to do) & I cannot believe the sheer number of fake Stihl & Husky saws on there proudly displaying trademark badges.

Check this one out; Stihl MS 381 Chainsaw - Only used once (eBay item 150556605454 end time 07-Feb-11 23:08:15 AEDST) : Home

He's got it listed as a Stihl, but when quizzed about it's history, he says it came in a box from China!

There are heaps of others! Especially Husky 365's.
yeah. thats crazy. i stay away from that Chinese junk!
__________________
stihl's 011 036 064 066 ms660 075 084
mcculloch's 10-10x2 250
jonsered 2171
partners 500 5000 plus x2
poulan pro's 365 505
stihl kickin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 01:03 AM   #7
Mature tree
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Troms, North Norway
Posts: 280
Smile Re: Brand new 070 on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinE View Post
I was just trolling ebay looking at saws (as I tend to do) & I cannot believe the sheer number of fake Stihl & Husky saws on there proudly displaying trademark badges.

Check this one out; Stihl MS 381 Chainsaw - Only used once (eBay item 150556605454 end time 07-Feb-11 23:08:15 AEDST) : Home

He's got it listed as a Stihl, but when quizzed about it's history, he says it came in a box from China!

There are heaps of others! Especially Husky 365's.
There are genuine ones on the market as well, in parts of the world.

I am a bit unsure if the genuine 070 and 090 are made in Germany, Brazil or both at the moment.

The genuine 08S, 051, 076 and 381 surely are made in Brazil, by Stihl.
SawTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 11:41 AM   #8
Sappling
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 18
Default Re: Brand new 070 on ebay

My brother just took delivery of a brand new 'husky' 365 I think at a bargain price, yes, shipped from China. He hasn't actually cut with it yet but its already developed a few problems. The metal sleeve around the starter cord chute has come adrift and the cord has unravelled into fine threads. The sleeve looks like its made from a milo can rather than stainless steel or alloy. It is obviously a junk showbag copy of the genuine item (he has one of them as well) and he's trying to get his cash back. I'd like to see ebay take some action against the sellers of these fakes. Meanwhile, buyer beware!
David Glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2011, 11:23 AM   #9
Mature tree
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Adelaide SA
Posts: 292
Default Re: Brand new 070 on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinE View Post
I was just trolling ebay looking at saws (as I tend to do) & I cannot believe the sheer number of fake Stihl & Husky saws on there proudly displaying trademark badges.

Check this one out; Stihl MS 381 Chainsaw - Only used once (eBay item 150556605454 end time 07-Feb-11 23:08:15 AEDST) : Home

He's got it listed as a Stihl, but when quizzed about it's history, he says it came in a box from China!

There are heaps of others! Especially Husky 365's.
Ebay must have got onto it, the ad's for the fakes are all gone! The ad's on there now for Chinese saws don't claim to be name brands like the ad's posted last week did.
KevinE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2011, 01:20 AM   #10
Sappling
 
Paul Goodall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toowoomba QLD
Posts: 35
Default Re: Brand new 070 on ebay

How do you guys spot the fakes? Any tell-tales?

Was looking at what this guy has for sale to sus him out as I'm after a new mid sized saw for groundwork for my gardening business.

loumanis2006 | eBay
Paul Goodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
favorite brand of saws. newguy18 Chainsaws 313 15th May 2012 06:14 PM
A Brand New Grandson Jeff Darby Non Tree Related chat 20 9th April 2010 12:39 PM
Homelite 26LCS saw going to ebay.... Macgyver76 Chainsaws 0 5th September 2009 03:20 AM
Husky Rancher Brand New..need help upstate NY Chainsaws 4 15th May 2009 11:42 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Advertising on Treeworld
TreeWorld @ 2012